ALERT: Colorado is on a statewide Stay-at-Home order (effective March 26-April 11) asking residents to stay home unless they are performing critical activities. All City of Commerce City facilities and rec centers remain closed to the public through April 17. Visit for updates.


The planning commission was established by Ordinance 1016.


The planning commission makes, amends, and adds to the master plan for the physical development of the city, exercises control over platting and subdividing land within the city, is responsible for the official zoning ordinance and zoning map of the city, conducts hearings and makes recommendations to the council regarding rezoning in the city, makes and recommends plans for the clearing and rebuilding of slum districts and blighted areas, makes and adopts plans for the replanning, improvement, and redevelopment of areas within the city, and is responsible for the major street plan of the city.


There is currently one vacancy for an alternate member.

Apply today

Apply online.


The planning commission is comprised of eight members. Five of the members are regular members and three of the members are alternate members who serve in the absence of one or more regular members. All members shall be residents of the city and hold no other position with the city. Members serve three year terms.


Term Expires

Jonathan Popiel (Chair)


Andrew Amador (Vice Chair)


Dennis Cammack


Karen Anderson


Warren Jones


David Yost


Jordan Ingram 04/2022


The planning commission meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 6:00 PM in the Civic Center.

Agendas & Minutes

View past and future scheduled meeting information.