Show/Hide

ALERT: Colorado is on a statewide Stay-at-Home order (effective March 26-April 11) asking residents to stay home unless they are performing critical activities. All City of Commerce City facilities and rec centers remain closed to the public through April 17. Visit c3gov.com/covid-19 for updates.

Traffic Violation, Animal-at-Large or Violation Issued by NSI 

The maximum penalty for a traffic violation, animal violation or code enforcement violation is a monetary fine of up to $2,650 and the court can order you to complete an educational program and or community service. These violations have been decriminalized and are not eligible for a trial by jury or jail sentence.

Non-Traffic Violation

(Under the age of 18 at Time of Offense)

The maximum penalty is a monetary fine of up to $2,650, plus the court can order you to perform community service and complete educational programs. If you are under 18 years of age you are not eligible for a jury trial for any violation. 

Non-Traffic Violation

(Over the age of 18 at Time of Offense)

For most offenses, the maximum penalty is a monetary fine of up to $2,650, a jail sentence of up to one year, or both. The court can also order you to take an education or treatment program if deemed appropriate for your case. Some non-traffic violations, such as animal at large and code violations have been decriminalized and are not eligible for a jury trial.

By city ordinance the following violations shall constitute a misdemeanor traffic violation: Sections 238, 606, 607, 611, 1008, 1208, 1415 of the Colorado Model Traffic Code or violations concerning Compulsory Insurance, Reckless or Careless Driving involving injury, Eluding or Attempting to Elude a Police Officer, Speed Contests or Exhibitions or sections 705(2) & 705(2.5) Failure to exhibit due care and caution when approaching a stationary emergency vehicle with flashing lights or a maintenance, repair or construction vehicle; if the defendant at the time of the commission of the alleged violation was eighteen (18) years of age or older the maximum penalty is a monetary fine not to exceed two thousand six hundred fifty dollars ($2,650.00) or a jail sentence of up to 1 year, or both such fine and jail sentence.

Court Costs

In addition to any fines, education or treatment programs, the court will impose court costs. City Council has enacted ordinances that require the court to add a 30 percent surcharge and a $9 fuel surcharge to any fine imposed by the court.