Go To Search
Click to Home
City Council
City Council is the legislative and governing body of Commerce City. The nine members establish the vision for the city, set annual goals to achieve that vision and enact the laws that govern our citizens. City Council annually reviews and approves the city budget. They also appoint the city manager, city attorney, and municipal court judge, as well as members of boards and commissions.  

Commerce City Telephone Town Halls
City Council is hosting a series of telephone town hall meetings this year to provide residents an easy way to engage in city government from the comfort of their home. This hour-long call the third Wednesday of every other month is an opportunity to share city information, get feedback on city projects and answer questions about services or issues.
These events are held at 7 p.m. the third Wednesday of every other month:
  • October 26 - Usually held the third Wednesday of every other month, this month’s town hall was pushed back one week due to the Oct. 19 presidential debate.
  • December 21


If you would like to subscribe to ensure you get a phone call so that you can participate, text C3GOV to 828282 or subscribe here. You can also call in at 877-229-8493 and enter 115347 when prompted.

You can now join the conversation on Twitter. Tweet your questions @CommerceCityCo using #EngageC3gov the day of the telephone town hall from 7-8 p.m.

City Council Meetings
  • Regular Meetings: 6 p.m. on the first and third Monday of each month except for holidays.
  • Study Sessions: 6 p.m. on the second and fourth Monday of each month except for holidays.
  • Meeting locations: Unless otherwise designated by Council, meetings take place at the Civic Center at 7887 E 60th Ave., Commerce City. 
  • Meeting broadcasts: Regular meetings are broadcast online and on local Channel 8. 

Agendas & Minutes
Meeting agendas, minutes and legislation are available online.
There are nine city council members, including one mayor, a council member for each of the city's four wards and four members at-large. The mayor selects a councilperson to serve as the mayor pro tem.
2016 City Council
Standing: Rick Teter, Jason McEldowney, Sean Ford, René Bullock,
Jadie Carson, Andrew Amador, Paolo Diaz, Crystal Elliott, Steve Douglas.