News & Announcements

Commerce City Council Races, Ballot Order Set

Post Date:09/07/2017 12:08 PM


Eleven candidates will vie for four city council seats in the 2017 coordinated election. Voters will elect two at-large council members and one representative each from Ward I and Ward III to four year terms on Nov. 7, 2017. Candidates were certified Aug. 28. A special meeting was held Sept. 5 to conduct a lot draw to determine the listed ballot order as follows:

Ward I

  • Eugene Leffel
  • Oscar Madera

Ward III

  • Tawnya Russell
  • Jacob Wilson 
  • Nicole Frank


  • Anthony Stellato
  • José L. Guardiola
  • Benjamin Huseman
  • T. Alan Howell
  • William Jackson 
  • Harvest Thomas III

City Council unanimously referred one measure to the 2017 ballot. The referred question asks voters to approve an additional five percent excise tax of the value of the product transferred on certain marijuana transactions beginning Jan. 1, 2018. In November 2015, city voters approved a similar marijuana excise tax; this new measure would replace the existing tax with clearer language that better reflects the current business environment in the city.

An election forum will take place at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, October 12, 2017, at the Commerce City Civic Center, 7887 E. 60th Avenue. The event, moderated by the League of Women Voters, will introduce voters to the candidates for city council and the local issues under consideration.

The city clerk is required to certify all ballot content with the Adams County Clerk by Sept. 8, 2017. More information on the 2017 election, including voter resources and candidate information is available online at

Return to full list >>